Cerda Named To All-MASL First Team

San Diego Sockers defender Cesar Cerda, who anchored the League's best defense, was named to the 2021 All-MASL First Team which was announced by the Major Arena Soccer League today. In addition, Leonardo De Oliveira, Brandon Escoto, Marico Leite, and Boris Pardo earned All-MASL Honorable Mention honors.

Each active MASL player, head coach, and one member of each team front office were invited to submit one ballot. Voting was based on the regular season performances.

Calculating the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd All-MASL Teams are based on a point system. Players receive three points for a 1st team vote, two points for the 2nd team, and one point for a 3rd team vote. The highest number of points is then calculated to determine three Forward/Midfielders in each team, then two Defenders, and one GK. In case of a tie in points, it is determined by who had more First Team votes, then Second Team. The All-Rookie Team is selected by the highest total votes by position (F, M/F, D, GK). Individual Major Awards are based on the highest number of total votes. Tiebreakers go to the player with the most all league points or it can be determined a tie.


F – Ian Bennett – Florida Tropics

F – Franck Tayou – Ontario Fury

M – Justin Stinson – Ontario Fury

D – Cesar Cerda – San Diego Sockers

D – Robert Palmer – Ontario Fury

GK – Claysson De Lima – Ontario Fury


F – Felipe De Sousa – Dallas Sidekicks

F – Leo Gibson – Kansas City Comets

M – Juan Carlos Gonzalez – Ontario Fury

D – John Sosa – Kansas City Comets

D – Ray Lee – Kansas City Comets

GK – Hugo Silva – Florida Tropics


F – Nick Perera – Tacoma Stars

F – Max Ferdinand – St. Louis Ambush

M – Maicon De Abreu – Ontario Fury

D – Chad Vandegriffe – Florida Tropics

D – Stefan Mijatovic – St. Louis Ambush

GK – Paulo Nascimento – St. Louis Ambush


F – Leonardo De Oliveira – San Diego Sockers

F – Vini Dantas – Tacoma Stars

F – Tony Walls – St. Louis Ambush

F – Howard Miller Jr – St. Louis Ambush

M – Victor Parreiras – Florida Tropics

M – Brandon Escoto – San Diego Sockers

M – Ricardo Carvalho – Florida Tropics

M – Adam James – Kansas City Comets

D – Uzi Tayou – Ontario Fury

D – Marcio Leite – San Diego Sockers

D – Matt Lewis – Kansas City Comets

D – Cory Keitz – Tacoma Stars

GK – Chris Toth – Tacoma Stars

GK – Nicolau Neto – Kansas City Comets

GK – Boris Pardo – San Diego Sockers

GK – Danny Waltman – Tacoma Stars