Cesar Cerda & Gerardo Jurado Honored By MASL

The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) is announcing its 2019-2020 postseason awards and two Sockers were named to the All-MASL Honorable Mention and All-MASL Rookie Honorable Mention Teams. Cesar Cerda and Gerardo Jurado, respectively, were honored.

Each active MASL player, head coach, and one member of each team front office were invited to submit one ballot. Voting was based on regular-season performance.

Calculating the 1st, 2nd and 3rd All-MASL Teams are based on a point system. Players receive three points for a 1st team vote, two points for a 2nd team, and one point for a 3rd team vote. The highest number of points is then calculated to determine three Forward/Midfielders in each team, then two Defenders, and one GK. In case of a tie in points, it is determined by who had more 1st team votes, then 2nd team. The All-Rookie Team is selected by the highest total votes by position (F, M/F, D, GK). Individual Major Awards are based on the highest number of total votes. Tiebreakers go to the player with the most all league points or it can be determined a tie.

2019-2020 Voting Ballots Submitted:
Head Coaches 6.67%
Players 87.14%
Team Staff   6.19%          

F – Vinicius Dantas – Baltimore Blast
F – Enrique Canez – Soles De Sonora
F – Nick Perera – Tacoma Stars
F – Dominic Francis – Harrisburg Heat
M – Moises Gonzalez – Utica City FC
M – Daniel Villela – Harrisburg Heat
M – Gary Boughton – Rochester Lancers
D – Robert Palmer – Kansas City Comets
D – Cesar Cerda – San Diego Sockers
D – Adriano Dos Santos – Baltimore Blast
D – Alex Caceres – Tacoma Stars
D – Uzi Tayou – Ontario Fury
GK – Berna Valdivinos – Monterrey Flash
GK – Paulo Nascimento – St Louis Ambush
GK – William Vanzela – Baltimore Blast    

F – Duduca Carvalho – St. Louis Ambush
F – Marcel Berry – Harrisburg Heat
M - Luiz Felipe Xavier De Andrade – Dallas Sidekicks
D – Ray Lee – Kansas City Comets
D – Ismael Rojo – Soles de Sonora
G – Eduardo “Pollo” Cortes – Mesquite Outlaws

F – Uros Momic – Utica City FC
F – Felipe de Sousa – Dallas Sidekicks
M – Rafa Godoi – Rochester Lancers
M – Jesus Pacheco – Ontario Fury
M – Gerardo Jurado – San Diego Sockers
M – Malcolm Harris – Harrisburg Heat
D – Anthony Rozzano – Rochester Lancers
D – Diego Mayanga – Rochester Lancers
D – Jeff Michaud – Orlando SeaWolves
GK – Nicolau Neto – Kansas City Comets

Remaining 2019-2020 MASL Awards Schedule of Announcements:
Monday, April 13 - ALL-MASL 1st Team and Rookie of the Year Nominees
Tuesday, April 14 - Rookie of The Year Award and Coach of the Year Nominees
Wednesday, April 15 - Coach of the Year Award and Goalkeeper of Year Nominees
Thursday, April 16 - Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Defender of the Year Nominees
Friday, April 17 - Defender of the Year Award and MVP Nominees
Saturday, April 18 - MVP Award