Chiles, Sosa And Pardo Honored By MASL

The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) announced today the MASL 2nd Team, 3rd Team, and Honorable Mention list. The San Diego Sockers were represented by forward Kraig Chiles and defender John Sosa on the Second Team, and goalkeeper Boris Pardo on the Third Team. These awards are a prelude to the MASL Conference Finals to be held this weekend. The Milwaukee Wave travel to the Baltimore Blast on Friday and the Monterrey Flash host the San Diego Sockers on Sunday as all four teams try to earn a spot in the Ron Newman Cup Championship.

Chiles played in only 19 games and finished the season leading the team in points (55), goals (38), assists (17) and game-winning goals (8).
GP        G          A          PTS      PPGA   PIM      S%        GWG    PPG      SHG    
19        38        17        55        2.9       13        .343             8          12        0         

Sosa, who joined the team this year, was solid on defense all season long. In 19 matches, he tallied 18 points on three goals and 15 assists.
GP        G          A          PTS      PPGA   PIM      S%        GWG    PPG      SHG    
19        3          15        18        0.9       7          .167             1          0          0         

Pardo, who had a record of 9-0-1, led the MASL in GAA at 3.70 and was third in save percentage with .747%.
GP        GS        W         L          SA        GA       GAA     Sv         Sv%      SO        MP       PIM      G          A
10        10        9          0          146      37        3.70     109      .747     0          600:23         4       0          2

Each team in the MASL was invited to submit a vote from their General Manager or Head Coach for the MASL post-season awards.

The MASL will continue to award postseason honors this week, with the 1st Team All-MASL on Thursday, March 15.

MASL 2nd Team All-MASL

GK - Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave)

D - Damian Garcia (Monterrey Flash)

D - John Sosa (San Diego Sockers) 

M - Tony Donatelli (Baltimore Blast)

F - Kraig Chiles (San Diego Sockers)

F - Joey Tavernese (Syracuse Silver Knights)

MASL 3rd Team All-MASL

GK - Boris Pardo (San Diego Sockers) 

D - Adriano Dos Santos (Baltimore Blast)

D - Darren Toby (Syracuse Silver Knights)

M - Christian Gutierrez (El Paso Coyotes)

M - Gordy Gurson (Cedar Rapids Rampage)

F - Leo Gibson (Kansas City Comets)


GK - William Vanzela (Baltimore Blast)

GK - Diego Reynoso (Monterrey Flash)

D - Ignacio Flores (Kansas City Comets)

D - Jonatan Santos (Milwaukee Wave)

D - Miguel Vaca (Monterrey Flash)

D - Victor Quiroz (Soles de Sonora)

F - Carlos Farias (Monterrey Flash)

D - Lucio Gonzaga (Harrisburg Heat)

D - Maicon De Abreu (Ontario Fury)

F - Ricardo De Queiroz Diegues (Florida Tropics)

F - Slavisa Ubiparipovic (Syracuse Silver Knights)

D - Pablo Da Silva (St Louis Ambush)

The Sockers travel to Mexico to play Monterrey on Sunday, March 18, 4:05 p.m., PT, in the MASL Western Conference Final. The game can be seen live on MASL.TV or supporters can attend a Watch Party at Barrel Republic, Pacific Beach.