Chris Toth Named All-MASL 1st Team Goalkeeper

One day ahead of the Conference Final Weekend, the Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) announced the All-MASL 1st Team for the 2017-2018 regular season. Goalkeeper Chris Toth, who now has the edge on being honored as the Goalkeeper of the Year, was the only Socker named to the team. Earlier this week, the MASL announced the All-Rookie and Rookie Honorable Mentions as well as 2nd Team, 3rd Team, and Honorable Mention All-MASL Teams.

Including San Diego Sockers’ goalkeeper Chris Toth, four players return from last year’s 1st Team selections. 2016-2017 MVP, Franck Tayou, headlines the group, while the Milwaukee Wave have two players represented on this year’s Best VI (Ian Bennett and Max Ferdinand). Pat Healey makes the selection to the MASL’s top team for the first time since 2014-2015 and rounding out the group is St. Louis Ambush defender Robert Acosta, who makes his first career All-MASL team.

Toth was part of the bets goalkeeper tandem in the MASL alongside All-MASL Third Team netminder Boris Pardo. The pair led the league in goals-against average. Toth had a spectacular season with the second-best GAA at 3.80 and one shutout. He won Game Two and the deciding Game Three of the Pacific Divisional Championship allowing only five goals in 75 minutes of play, and he also scored a goal from the red line in the first game to help San Diego force the Mini-Game.

Regular Season Stats
GS        W         L          SA        GA       GAA     Sv         Sv%      SO        MP       PIM      G          A
12        10        2          178      45        3.80     134      .753     1        710:31     0       0          6

Each team in the MASL was invited to submit a vote from their General Manager or Head Coach for the MASL post-season awards.

The MASL will hold a press conference prior to the Ron Newman Cup Championship to announce the winners for MASL MVP, Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

All-MASL First Team

GK - Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers)

D - Pat Healey (Baltimore Blast)

D - Robert Acosta (St Louis Ambush)

M - Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave)

F - Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave)

F - Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora)

San Diego travels to Mexico to challenge Monterrey in the Western Conference Final on Sunday, March 18, 4:00 p.m., PT. The game can be seen live on MASL.TV or at Barrel Republic, Pacific Beach, for the Watch Party.