Kraig Chiles On Three-Man Shortlist For MASL MVP

Carlsbad, CA (March 11, 2016)- San Diego Sockers' forward Kraig Chiles has been selected on a three-man shortlist for the Major Arena Soccer Leagues’ Most Valuable Player.

The striker joins Soles de Sonora’s goal-scoring ace Franck Tayou and Tacoma Stars goalkeeper Danny Waltman.

All three finalists are out of the Pacific Division.

Chiles finished the season second in points with 55 and tied for second in assists alongside Missouri’s Vahid Assadpour. The one-club man struck 28 goals and dished out 27 helpers on his way to a fifth consecutive season in which he surpassed the 50 point plateau. 

“Very well deserved,” general manager John Kentera said upon hearing the news. “He has won three league MVP awards and I feel this is his most complete season. I think it shows how strong the Pacific Division is with all three finalists coming from it.”

“Individual accolades come with team success.” said Chiles who won the Professional Arena Soccer League MVP three seasons running from 2010-2011 to 2012-2013. “So I owe this to my teammates and the coaching staff. This was a very competitive and defensive minded year in the MASL and the future looks bright for indoor soccer.”

Here are the rest of the nominees, followed by the All-Rookie Team:


MASL Most Valuable Player

F - Franck Tayou (Sonora)

F - Kraig Chiles (San Diego)

GK - Danny Waltman (Tacoma)

MASL Rookie of the Year

D - Leo de Oliveira (Waza Flo)

F - Adolfo Bautista (Chicago)

F - Alejandro Leyva (Sonora)

M - Mike Ramos (Tacoma)

MASL Goalkeeper of the Year

GK - Danny Waltman (Tacoma)

GK - William Vanzela (Baltimore)

GK - Boris Pardo (Missouri)

MASL Defender of the Year

D - Victor Baez (Saltillo)

D - Pat Healey (Baltimore)

D - Damian Garcia (Sonora)

MASL Coach of the Year

Luis Jaime Borrego (Sonora)

Darren Sawatzky (Tacoma)

Vlatko Andonovski (Missouri)


All-MASL Rookie Team

F - Alejandro Leyva | Soles de Sonora

F - Adolfo "Bofo" Bautista | Chicago Mustangs

M - Mike Ramos | Tacoma Stars

D - Thiago Gonçalves | Waza Flo

D - Roberto Escalante Medina | Soles de Sonora

GK - Andrew Coughlin | Syracuse Silver Knights

Honorable Mention MASL Rookies

F - Brandon Escoto (Baja)

D - Ricardo Carvalho (Chicago)

GK - Hector Casillas (Las Vegas)

GK - Rafael Diaz (Detroit)

F - Leo de Oliveira (Detroit)

M - Andre Hayne (St Louis)

M - Anibal Echeverria (Sacramento)

D - Alex Tozer (Cedar Rapids)

D - Sean Totsch (Milwaukee)

M - Cristian Gutierrez (Baja)

D - Juan Carlos Gonzalez (Ontario)