Sockers 2 Are West Conference Champs In 11-10 Win

The San Diego Sockers 2 won the inaugural MASL 2 Western Conference Final on Tim Liermann's overtime goal at 27 seconds to defeat the #1 seed Colorado Inferno 11-10 at a sold-out Colorado Springs SoccerHaus. San Diego advances to play the Eastern Conference winner Chicago Mustangs in the M2 Cup Championship Final on Sunday, 12:00 p.m. PT. Andy Lorei tallied six goals to pace San Diego.

The see-saw contest featured scoring streaks in threes by both teams. San Diego jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead but allowed Colorado to tie the game with three consecutive goals. The Sockers 2 went on another run of three to take the 6-3 advantage. Lorei scored four the team's first six goals and added one just before halftime to stake San Diego to a 7-6 lead after the Inferno's second three-goal burst. 

The second half was much different as the team's settled down and played tighter defense. Colorado would get their first and only lead of the game at 8-7 with 4:23 left in the third quarter. Francisco Rivas' go-ahead goal was his third of the match. San Diego used two power-play goals in 25 seconds to regain the lead to end the third. Lorei nailed his sixth goal of the game, followed by a strike from Renato Sanchez.

The Inferno bookended a Sockers 2 goal by Sam Palano in the fourth quarter. Colorado's Jacob Martinez forced overtime with a goal with under five minutes remaining to set up Liermann's heroics.

San Diego also got goals from Mike Mercuriali and Evan Myers.

Ramon Torres made 10 saves on the 20 shots he faced to earn the win. 

To win the first-ever M2 Cup title, San Diego will have to beat another #1 seed in the Chicago Mustangs, who topped Cincinnati 9-2 in the Eastern Conference Final. The 10-2 Mustangs were the overall top seed in the playoffs and were the most dominant side in the league. The game will kickoff at 12:00 p.m. PT and can be seen streaming live on MASL.TV.



Inferno FC3322010
Sockers 24321111


Inferno FC91195135
Sockers 2101366136


PeriodTimeStrengthTeamScorer (Assists)Total
1st13:07ESSockers 2Andrew Lorei (Jared Hegardt)0 - 1 Sockers 2
1st12:28ESSockers 2Mike Mercuriali0 - 2 Sockers 2
1st09:11ESSockers 2Andrew Lorei0 - 3 Sockers 2
1st03:46ESInferno FCOscar Montoya (Antonio Garcia)1 - 3 Sockers 2
1st03:32ESInferno FCFrancisco Rivas (Ismael Morales)2 - 3 Sockers 2
1st00:45ESInferno FCFrancisco Rivas3 - 3 Tie
1st00:23ESSockers 2Andrew Lorei (Chad Hagerty)3 - 4 Sockers 2
2nd14:38ESSockers 2Andrew Lorei3 - 5 Sockers 2
2nd12:04ESSockers 2Evan Myers3 - 6 Sockers 2
2nd09:30ESInferno FCArmando Gonzalez4 - 6 Sockers 2
2nd08:57ESInferno FCOscar Montoya (Francisco Rivas)5 - 6 Sockers 2
2nd08:18ESInferno FCThomas Hoang (Jacob Martinez)6 - 6 Tie
2nd03:39ESSockers 2Andrew Lorei (Chad Hagerty)6 - 7 Sockers 2
3rd14:12ESInferno FCJacob Martinez (Francisco Rivas)7 - 7 Tie
3rd04:53ESInferno FCFrancisco Rivas (Armando Gonzalez)8 - 7 Inferno FC
3rd01:58PPSockers 2Andrew Lorei (Juan Topete)8 - 8 Tie
3rd01:23ESSockers 2Renato Sanchez8 - 9 Sockers 2
4th09:44ESInferno FCArmando Gonzalez9 - 9 Tie
4th06:42ESSockers 2Sam Palano9 - 10 Sockers 2
4th04:14ESInferno FCJacob Martinez (Gabriel Causse)10 - 10 Tie
OT109:33ESSockers 2Tim Liermann10 - 11 Sockers 2



18Andrew LoreiF6062001015100
89Chad HagertyM022013005000
3Sam PalanoM101000002000
7Jared HegardtM011011002000
17Evan MyersD101001002000
19Renato SanchezD101020001000
23Mike MercurialiD101021003000
34Juan TopeteM011223004100
2Ryan CarissD000000002000
5Danny GlascockD000211001100
9Rafael AguilarF000032001000
12Juliano PereiraM000000000000
13Eli Galbraith-KnappD000020003000
16Tim LiermannD101001003000


61Ramon Torres201010.50060:270000000